Hola La Garriga!

16 Nov

This morning (well I guess technically yesterday morning) started off with a nice and early wake up call at 6am! After ditching a few last-minute items and making a quick trip to Wal-Mart, my parents and I finally made it to Nashville, where I met the 7 other girls who are in La Garriga teaching with me. After saying goodbyes to the parents and taking a few pictures (in which sock monkey made an appearance Brittni), we boarded the plane and were bound for NY. The flight went very smoothly and fairly quick, and before we knew it we were on our next plane headed for Barcelona.

The flight to Barcelona was not nearly as quick or easy, however, we did make friends with some very nice people, some of which included a nice couple from California, and Margaret, the lady I sat next to during the flight. Margaret told me of her many world travels. She had traveled all over Europe, and was currently headed to a cruise that would travel from Spain to Italy making numerous stops along the way. My favorite Margaret quote from the trip, “I will travel until my money runs out. Once it’s gone, I will stay at home, but at least I can say I’ve been places.”

After a 7 hour flight, we landed in Barcelona, where we were greeted by Kristin. Kristin is the Barcelona coordinator for ALA, so she meet us and helped to transport us to the school where we are teaching. The school is named SEK and is located in La Garriga, Spain, which is about 40 miles outside of Barcelona and has a population of about 20,000 people. SEK is a private school, and many families who live in Barcelona send their children to the school.

Since arriving at the school, we met our cooperating teacher, were given a tour of the school, we have moved into our flat, which is located in the school building, and we have eaten non-stop. Since we have started traveling, I have not spent one second hungry. Not only did we receive a snack, dinner, and breakfast in a 7 hour period on our flight , and have a mid-morning snack and lunch at the school, but bread, sweet rolls, and crackers were also brought to our flat in case we got hungry. We also made a quick trip into La Garriga, where we picked up a few maps and stopped at a market. It seems like a very nice little town, and I can’t wait to become more familiar with the area.

Probably the hardest adjustment to make (once I get over the jet lag that is) will be the eating schedule and the school schedule. Breakfast is around 9, school does not begin until around 9:30, a mid-morning snack is served around 10:30 or 11, lunch from around 1-3, school ends around 5, and dinner isn’t until 8:30 or 9…much different from the US secondary school schedule of 8-4 with a 22 minute lunch break and a one hour planning period.

Well, I guess I’m going to take a nap before dinner in a few hours…trying to cure this jet lag. Adios!

 

Leave a Reply

